Lynchburg holds annual One Love escalation workshop

One Love workshop groups sitting on Shellenberger Field during the escalation seminar

Lynchburg, Va. -- University of Lynchburg's campus community once again gathered in Turner Gymnasium to work toward putting an end to relationship violence on campus by means of the One Love escalation workshop.

It was the third year of Lynchburg athletics' department-wide effort to draw attention to the issue of relationship violence by partnering with One Love, and just as importantly, to educate members of Lynchburg's community how to spot the warning signs of relationship violence.

About 700 Lynchburg students, faculty and staff, and community members gathered Sunday evening for the hour-and-a-half-long workshop presented by the One Love Foundation and Lynchburg's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee.

The group watched a 45-minute film depicting relationship violence and, following the video, split into small discussion groups which encouraged attendees to talk about the warning signs of abuse and what they can do to see them and stop them.

Named for former University of Virginia women's lacrosse player Yeardley Love, who was killed by her ex-boyfriend in 2010, the One Love Foundation was formed by the Love family to educate and raise awareness about relationship abuse and how to address it.

SAAC members and student facilitators introduced the video that served as a prelude to the escalation workshop, a 90-minute session designed to highlight the warning signs for relationship violence and encourage people to speak out against it.

Lynchburg had more than 60 community members volunteer to become facilitators, by far its largest number in the three years of the event.

"It's amazing to see so many members of our Lynchburg community want to participate in One Love as facilitators," SAAC's communications chair and field hockey senior Lindsay Riley said. "The whole point of One Love and the workshop is to get people more knowledgeable about the issue of relationship violence, and I think it's really important that our athletic community takes a leadership role in keeping our community free from such a prevalent problem on many college campuses."

One in three women and one in four men will experience relationship violence in their lifetime, according to the One Love Foundation, but with escalation workshops such as Lynchburg's, it hopes to change that statistic.

Lynchburg is one of nearly 900 college campuses that has played host an escalation workshop, reaching more than 13,000 people in total.

To learn more about the One Love Foundation visit www.joinonelove.org.

--LYN--

Fri Sep 20
at ITA Southeast Regional Championship, University of Mary Washington, Fredericksburg, Va. -- Day 1
Sat Sep 21
at ITA Southeast Regional Championship, University of Mary Washington, Fredericksburg, Va. -- Day 2
Sat Sep 21
Fresno State
vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Match
Sat Sep 21
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Catholic
Sat Sep 21
2:00 PM
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
Parents Weekend
Sat Sep 21
2:00 PM
Southern Virginia
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Sep 21
4:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
vs. Lynchburg
Sun Sep 22
at Bridgewater Invitational, Lakeview GC, Harrisonburg, Va. -- Day 1
Sun Sep 22
at ITA Southeast Regional Championship, University of Mary Washington, Fredericksburg, Va. -- Day 3
Mon Sep 23
at Bridgewater Invitational, Lakeview GC, Harrisonburg, Va. -- Day 2
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Fri Nov 08
TBA
Lynchburg
vs. TBA
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
Fri Aug 30
Final
4 Roanoke
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Non-conference match
Sat Sep 07
Final
0 Maryville (Tenn.)
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Regent
10 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Wed Sep 11
Final
2 No. 16 Mary Washington
0 vs. Lynchburg
Fri Sep 13
Final
1 No. 13 Oglethorpe
2 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Sep 18
Final - 2OT
0 Lynchburg
0 at Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 21
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Catholic
Wed Sep 25
7:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Non-conference match
Sat Sep 28
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Roanoke
Wed Oct 02
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 09
7:00 PM
Randolph-Macon
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hampden-Sydney
Wed Oct 16
3:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 19
7:30 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Shenandoah
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Fri Nov 01
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- First Round
Sun Nov 03
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
View Full Schedule
No Event
Sat Aug 31
Final
2 No. 10 Johns Hopkins
0 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sun Sep 01
Final
2 Mt. St. Mary (N.Y.)
7 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sat Sep 07
Final
1 Maryville (Tenn.)
2 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 1
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Kalamazoo
3 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 3
Sat Sep 14
Final - 2OT
2 No. 19 Lynchburg
3 at Emory
Sun Sep 15
Final
1 No. 19 Lynchburg
0 at Piedmont
Wed Sep 25
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 28
12:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 05
1:00 PM
Bridgewater (Va.)
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 09
4:00 PM
Randolph
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at East. Mennonite
Tue Oct 15
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Wed Oct 16
4:00 PM
Sweet Briar
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
5:00 PM
Roanoke
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sun Oct 27
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
1:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Wed Nov 06
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ High Seed ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
View Full Schedule