Baseball rebounds for ODAC split with E&H

Austin Keesee stands on the bases. Text: Game 2 4 for 5 3 R 2 RBI

Lynchburg, Va. -- The Lynchburg College baseball team battled to an Old Dominion Athletic Conference split with Emory & Henry Saturday afternoon at home, dropping the opener, 11-3, before bouncing back for an 11-8 nightcap victory.

Sophomore right fielder Austin Keesee (Chesterfield, Va.) had four hits in Lynchburg's victory, scoring three runs and driving in a pair, and senior catcher Matthew Stevens (Annandale, Va.) collected three hits and four RBI on the day.

 

THE RUNDOWN

Game 1 Final: Emory & Henry 11, Lynchburg 3

Game 2 Final: Lynchburg 11, Emory & Henry 8

Records: Lynchburg (12-11, 5-6 ODAC), Emory & Henry (9-9, 2-7 ODAC)

Venue: James C. Fox Field, Lynchburg College, Lynchburg, Va.

 

HOW IT HAPPENED

Game 1

- Lynchburg struggled offensively in the early going as Wasps starter Gavin Felty kept Hornet hitters off balance. Meanwhile, E&H played a pair in the top of the second and three more in the third for a 5-0 lead. Felty went 7 ⅓ innings, allowing four hits and two runs to earn the win.

- The Hornets were unable to bring around runners in scoring position in the fourth and fifth innings as the Wasps added to their lead with three more in the fifth for an 8-0 lead.

- Trailing 11-0 after six, Lynchburg got on the board in the eighth on RBI hits by senior center fielder Brad Hylton (Danville, Va.) and Stevens.

- The Hornets got 3 ⅓ innings of scoreless relief from sophomore Michael Foxwell (Eldersburg, Md.), freshman Santiago Meneses (Guatemala City, GUATEMALA), and senior Jeremy Blasiole (Smithfield, Va.) to close out the game.

Game 2

- The tables turned on the back end of the doubleheader as Lynchburg leapt out to an early lead on a two-run single from junior shortstop Thomas Powell (Stanardsville, Va.) in the bottom of the first.

- LC added three more runs in the third, highlighted by Stevens' two-run single, and four in the sixth, led by a two-run single from sophomore third baseman Colin Corey (Springfield, Va.).

- Meanwhile, the Hornet pitching kept E&H's offense quiet. Freshman starter Jason Wood (Gloucester, Va.) began the game with two shutout innings, and senior David Goulding (Lynchburg, Va.) ate up the next 6 ⅓ innings for his second win of the season.

- Eighth-inning RBIs by freshman second baseman Parker Shaffer (Richmond, Va.) and Keesee proved pivotal as the Wasps came charging back late. Junior Graham Boggio (Midlothian, Va.) put out the fire in the ninth inning, recording the last two outs of the game for his first save of the season.

 

LOOKING AHEAD

Lynchburg will continue its homestand on Tuesday, April 3 with a non-conference contest against Greensboro College at 3 p.m.

--LC--

Fri Oct 18
5:30 p.m.
Bridgewater
vs. Lynchburg
Fri Oct 18
5:30 p.m.
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
at VSGA Intercollegiate, James River CC, Newport News, Va. -- Day 1
Sat Oct 19
at Inter-Regional Rumble
Gloucester County DREAM Park, Logan Township, N.J.
Sat Oct 19
at Bridgewater IHSA
Sat Oct 19
2:30 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. No. 19 Lynchburg
Senior Day | Homecoming
Sat Oct 19
5:00 PM
Roanoke
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Sat Oct 19
7:30 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Sun Oct 20
at VSGA Intercollegiate, James River CC, Newport News, Va. -- Day 2
Sun Oct 20
10 a.m.
Lynchburg IHSA
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Fri Nov 08
TBA
Lynchburg
vs. TBA
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Fri Nov 08
6:00 PM
Albertus Magnus
vs. Lynchburg
@ Hood College MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 09
TBA
Lynchburg
vs. TBA
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Wed Nov 13
7:30 PM
Lynchburg
at N.C. Wesleyan
Sat Nov 16
6:00 PM
Pfeiffer
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
3:00 PM
Methodist
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Fri Nov 22
TBA
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
@ Newport News, VA CNU Classic
Sat Nov 23
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Christopher Newport Classic -- Game 2
Sun Dec 01
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Sat Dec 07
2:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sun Nov 10
12:00 PM
Meredith
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Nov 12
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Fri Nov 15
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Emory
Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Sat Nov 16
2:00 PM
Colorado Col.
vs. Lynchburg
@ Emory University, Atlanta, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Wed Nov 20
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hollins
Mon Nov 25
7:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Sat Dec 07
4:30 PM
Emory & Henry
vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Game
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Fri Aug 30
Final
4 Roanoke
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Non-conference match
Sat Sep 07
Final
0 Maryville (Tenn.)
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Regent
10 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Wed Sep 11
Final
2 No. 16 Mary Washington
0 vs. Lynchburg
Fri Sep 13
Final
1 No. 13 Oglethorpe
2 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Sep 18
Final - 2OT
0 Lynchburg
0 at Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 21
Final
0 Lynchburg
1 at Catholic
Wed Sep 25
Final - 2OT
0 No. 13 Washington and Lee
0 vs. Lynchburg
Non-conference match
Sat Sep 28
Final - 2OT
0 Lynchburg
0 at Roanoke
Wed Oct 02
Final - 2OT
2 Lynchburg
2 at Bridgewater (Va.)
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 09
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final - 2OT
3 Lynchburg
3 at Hampden-Sydney
Wed Oct 16
Final
0 Lynchburg
4 at No. 6 Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 19
7:30 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Shenandoah
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Fri Nov 01
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- First Round
Sun Nov 03
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
Sat Nov 09
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Semifinal
Sun Nov 10
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Championship
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Aug 31
Final
2 No. 10 Johns Hopkins
0 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sun Sep 01
Final
2 Mt. St. Mary (N.Y.)
7 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sat Sep 07
Final
1 Maryville (Tenn.)
2 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 1
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Kalamazoo
3 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 3
Sat Sep 14
Final - 2OT
2 No. 19 Lynchburg
3 at Emory
Sun Sep 15
Final
1 No. 19 Lynchburg
0 at Piedmont
Wed Sep 25
Final - 2OT
1 No. 23 Lynchburg
1 at No. 2 Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 28
Final
0 No. 23 Lynchburg
3 at Washington and Lee
Note time change
Sat Oct 05
Final
0 Bridgewater (Va.)
4 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 09
Final
1 Randolph
5 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final
5 Lynchburg
0 at East. Mennonite
Tue Oct 15
Final
3 Lynchburg
0 at Ferrum
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 16
Final
0 Sweet Briar
9 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
5:00 PM
Roanoke
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sun Oct 27
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
1:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Wed Nov 06
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ High Seed ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
Sat Nov 09
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ Highest Seed ODAC Tournament -- Semifinal
Sun Nov 10
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ Highest Seed ODAC Tournament -- Championship
View Full Schedule