Baseball steps up to the plate to help tornado victims

Lynchburg baseball players pose for a photo after helping with tornado cleanup in nearby Elon, Va.

Lynchburg, Va. -- Just minutes after an EF-2 tornado touched down Sunday evening outside of Lynchburg and devastated a 20-mile swath not far from campus, the Lynchburg College baseball team met in the Dan Wooldridge Press Box and resolved to help out.

The next morning, more than a dozen ballplayers, led by Hornets assistant coach Jeremy Sink, ventured out to help those affected pick up their lives. The coach worked his social media connections, finding those in need and texting the addresses to his players. By afternoon, the group was in the nearby small community of Elon, clearing debris and aiding residents in their search for pieces of their lives -- family heirlooms and anything else they could salvage.

"It just showed the sense of community that we have here at Lynchburg College but also just in the area," sophomore pitcher Noah Winslow, who was part of the cleanup crew, said.

The storm's damaging winds affected 102 homes in Amherst County and 327 in the region, according to local authorities. Amazingly, no fatalities have been reported in the area.

"It was kind of crazy," freshman infielder Parker Shaffer said. "You drive up and see a perfectly fine house right next to a house that's been totally destroyed."

Shaking off the initial shock, the Hornets coaches and players got down to business alongside hundreds of other volunteers in the region. A small army of chainsaw-wielding Good Samaritans were out and about, clearing downed trees and opening up roadways so that storm-affected citizens could get out of their neighborhoods and begin the long road back to normalcy.

"It was kind of eye-opening. It was cool to see people showing up to help people, bringing water and gasoline for generators," said Shaffer.

Shaffer helped one family search for family heirlooms that were picked up by the storm. He salvaged an old military uniform from a neighbor's yard, returning the prized possession to its grateful owner.

It was those little bits of good news that brought a sense of accomplishment to the team. They went out hoping to help, and they did.

"Some folks we knew when we arrived to help, most others we didn't," Sink said. "It didn't matter. You didn't find anyone complaining or arguing, just everyone working together for the common good. There's a long way to go for many families around the area, but I know there are plenty of good people out there who will show up. I spent an entire day with lots of them."

For the team, it was another way to get to know the community they have become a part of by attending Lynchburg College. It was also a stark reminder of how fortunate they are to play the game they love.

In his first season as head coach, 2005 Lynchburg alumnus Lucas Jones has installed character pillars for the program. One of them is service, and that certainly stood out for Hornet baseball on Monday.

"Coach is always talking about how things are bigger than you," Winslow said. "Baseball is just a game, and when you leave the field it's all about the real world. That's a real world example of how there's more to life in sports."

--LC--

Fri Nov 15
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Emory
Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic (Game Played at Agnes Scott)
Sat Nov 16
at NCAA Division III South/Southeast Regional Championships
Shelby Farms Park, Memphis, Tenn.
Sat Nov 16
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Rowan
@ Salisbury, Md. NCAA Second Round
Sat Nov 16
3:00 PM
Colorado Col.
vs. Lynchburg
@ Emory University, Atlanta, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Sat Nov 16
6:00 PM
Pfeiffer
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
3:00 PM
Methodist
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Wed Nov 20
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hollins
Fri Nov 22
5:30 PM
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
@ Newport News, Va. CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 1
Sat Nov 23
at NCAA Division III Championships
E.P. "Tom" Sawyer State Park, Louisville, Ky.
Sat Nov 23
at Randolph-Macon Invitational -- Day 1
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Fri Nov 08
Final
87 Lynchburg
78 vs. Albertus Magnus
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 09
Final
62 Lynchburg
75 at Hood
MMI Tip-Off Championship
Wed Nov 13
Final
88 Lynchburg
68 at N.C. Wesleyan
Sat Nov 16
6:00 PM
Pfeiffer
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
3:00 PM
Methodist
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Fri Nov 22
5:30 PM
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
@ Newport News, Va. CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 1
Sat Nov 23
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 4
Sun Dec 01
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Sat Dec 07
2:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Wed Jan 01
2:00 PM
William Peace
vs. Lynchburg
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sun Nov 10
Final
60 Meredith
81 vs. Lynchburg
Tue Nov 12
Final
39 Lynchburg
70 at Averett
Fri Nov 15
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Emory
Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic (Game Played at Agnes Scott)
Sat Nov 16
3:00 PM
Colorado Col.
vs. Lynchburg
@ Emory University, Atlanta, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Wed Nov 20
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hollins
Mon Nov 25
7:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Sat Dec 07
4:30 PM
Emory & Henry
vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Game
Fri Dec 20
4:00 PM
Hood
vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Marymount (Va.)
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Thu Jan 02
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
No Event
Wed Sep 25
Final - 2OT
0 No. 13 Washington and Lee
0 vs. Lynchburg
Non-conference match
Sat Sep 28
Final - 2OT
0 Lynchburg
0 at Roanoke
Wed Oct 02
Final - 2OT
2 Lynchburg
2 at Bridgewater (Va.)
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 09
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final - 2OT
3 Lynchburg
3 at Hampden-Sydney
Wed Oct 16
Final
0 Lynchburg
4 at No. 6 Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 19
Final
1 East. Mennonite
3 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
Final
1 Shenandoah
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
Final
3 Lynchburg
1 at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
Final - OT
0 Guilford
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Sun Nov 03
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
2 vs. Lynchburg
Match 3 - ODAC Quarterfinal
Fri Nov 08
Final - PK Away
2 Lynchburg
2 at Hampden-Sydney
Match 6 - ODAC Semifinal
Sat Nov 09
Final
0 Lynchburg
1 vs. No. 11 Washington and Lee
@ Hampden-Sydney College, Hampden Sydney, Va. Match 8 - ODAC Championship
View Full Schedule
No Event
Wed Sep 25
Final - 2OT
1 No. 23 Lynchburg
1 at No. 2 Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 28
Final
0 No. 23 Lynchburg
3 at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 05
Final
0 Bridgewater (Va.)
4 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 09
Final
1 Randolph
5 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final
5 Lynchburg
0 at East. Mennonite
Tue Oct 15
Final
3 Lynchburg
0 at Ferrum
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 16
Final
0 Sweet Briar
9 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
Final
2 Roanoke
1 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Thu Oct 24
Final
3 Lynchburg
4 at No. 15 Randolph-Macon
Moved from Oct. 23
Sun Oct 27
Final
1 Lynchburg
2 at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
Final
2 Lynchburg
1 at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
Final - OT
2 Va. Wesleyan
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Mon Nov 04
Final
0 East. Mennonite
4 vs. Lynchburg
Match 1 - ODAC First Round
Wed Nov 06
Final
1 Lynchburg
4 at No. 14 Randolph-Macon
Match 2 - ODAC Quarterfinals
View Full Schedule