Men's basketball wins season opener over Albertus Magnus

TC Thacker is mobbed by teammates during pregame lineup announcements

Frederick, Md. -- Junior T.C. Thacker scored 18 points and grabbed 17 rebounds to lead the University of Lynchburg men's basketball team to an 87-78 win over Albertus Magnus Friday night in the opening game of Hood College's MMI Tip-Off Tournament.

Thacker recorded a new career-high in rebounds and matched his career-high in points. Senior Chance Greene recorded 19 points in the win and was 9-12 from the free-throw line. Junior Tharon Suggs also added 19 points and was 3-for-4 from beyond the arc.

The Hornets (1-0) found themselves down early as the Falcons (0-1) took a 21-13 lead halfway through the first half. Thacker made a layup on an assist from sophomore Dow Dunton to cut the lead to six, 21-15. The Falcons went back up by eight after a made layup from Isaiah Lewis to put the score at 23-15. 

The Falcons tied the game, 37-37, on a Qualon Wilkes free throw with 3:33 left in the first half, but senior Cody Lang grabbed the next rebound and set up a 3 from freshman Kavon James to put the Hornets back ahead. Lynchburg led 47-42 at half.

Coming out of the break, Lynchburg opened up an 11-point lead after a Suggs 3-pointer. The Falcons held the Hornets scoreless over the next 4:30 and tied the game at 55-55 with 13:31 to play.

Albertus Magnus continued to lead with 5:30 left in the second half until Suggs made a 3-point jumper to put Lynchburg up, 72-70. The Hornets never trailed again.

Lynchburg got solid production off the bench as Dunton chipped in eight points and nine boards, while James and Reggie Davis added seven points apiece.

Friday marked the sixth year in a row Lynchburg's men's basketball team took home a win in the season opener.

The Lynchburg men's basketball team will be back in action on Saturday, Nov. 9 as they take on the Blazers of Hood in the MMI Tip-Off Championship at 3 p.m.

--LYN--

No Event
No Event
Wed Jan 08
Final
82 Lynchburg
69 at Randolph
Sat Jan 11
Final
55 Lynchburg
64 at Shenandoah
Note time change
Wed Jan 15
Final
69 Washington and Lee
60 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Jan 15
Final
51 Hampden-Sydney
76 vs. Lynchburg
Thu Jan 16
Men: L, 106-90; Women: L, 111-85
Randolph-Macon
vs. Lynchburg
Fri Jan 17
at VMI Keydet Invitational -- Day 1
Virginia Military Institute, Lexington, Va.
Fri Jan 17
Men: W, 128-74
Lynchburg
at Hampden-Sydney
Men's team only
Sat Jan 18
Final
at VMI Keydet Invitational -- Day 2
Virginia Military Institute, Lexington, Va.
Sat Jan 18
Final
61 Lynchburg
69 at Va. Wesleyan
Sat Jan 18
Final
88 Lynchburg
64 at Emory & Henry
Wed Jan 22
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Wed Jan 22
7:00 PM
Ferrum
vs. Lynchburg
Coaches vs. Cancer Week
Fri Jan 24
at Finn Pincus Invite -- Day 1
Roanoke College, Salem, Va.
Sat Jan 25
at Finn Pincus Invite -- Day 2
Roanoke College, Salem, Va.
Sat Jan 25
1 p.m.
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Sat Jan 25
2:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Alumni Day | Coaches vs. Cancer Week
Sat Jan 25
4:30 PM
Bridgewater (Va.)
vs. Lynchburg
Alumnae Day
No Event
View Full Schedule
Fri Feb 14
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Huntingdon
Huntingdon Tournament
Sat Feb 15
12:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Emory
@ Montgomery, Ala. Huntingdon Tournament
Sun Feb 16
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Millsaps
@ Montgomery, Ala. (Huntingdon College) Huntingdon Tournament
Wed Feb 19
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Sat Feb 22
5:00 PM
Penn St.-Abington
vs. Lynchburg
@ Fayetteville, N.C. Methodist Invitational
Sat Feb 22
5:00 PM
Manhattanville
vs. Lynchburg
@ Fayetteville, N.C. Methodist Invitational
Sun Feb 23
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Methodist
Methodist Invitational
Wed Feb 26
3:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Greensboro
Sat Feb 29
12:00 PM
York (Pa.)
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Feb 29
3:00 PM
York (Pa.)
vs. Lynchburg
Sun Mar 01
12:00 PM
York (Pa.)
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Mar 03
2:00 PM
Averett
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Mar 07
12:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Mar 07
3:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
No Event
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sun Dec 01
Final
81 Lynchburg
68 at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
Final
73 Lynchburg
78 at Ferrum
Sat Dec 07
Final
51 East. Mennonite
90 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 11
Final
61 Lynchburg
42 at Averett
Wed Jan 01
Final - OT
85 William Peace
79 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 04
Final
74 Va. Wesleyan
76 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Jan 08
Final
82 Lynchburg
69 at Randolph
Wed Jan 15
Final
51 Hampden-Sydney
76 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 18
Final
88 Lynchburg
64 at Emory & Henry
Wed Jan 22
7:00 PM
Ferrum
vs. Lynchburg
Coaches vs. Cancer Week
Sat Jan 25
2:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Alumni Day | Coaches vs. Cancer Week
Wed Jan 29
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Roanoke
Sat Feb 01
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Wed Feb 05
7:00 PM
Randolph
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Feb 08
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Wed Feb 12
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Game
Sat Feb 15
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Feb 19
7:30 PM
Roanoke
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
Wed Dec 04
Final
58 Lynchburg
49 at Randolph
Sat Dec 07
Final
67 Emory & Henry
56 vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Game
Fri Dec 20
Final
70 Lynchburg
26 vs. Hood
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. - Ocean Center Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
Final
60 No. 18 Marymount
56 vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. - Ocean Center Daytona Beach Shootout
Thu Jan 02
Final
53 Lynchburg
75 at Randolph-Macon
Sat Jan 04
Final
54 Johns Hopkins
49 vs. Lynchburg
Tue Jan 07
Final
46 Guilford
50 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 11
Final
55 Lynchburg
64 at Shenandoah
Note time change
Wed Jan 15
Final
69 Washington and Lee
60 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 18
Final
61 Lynchburg
69 at Va. Wesleyan
Wed Jan 22
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Sat Jan 25
4:30 PM
Bridgewater (Va.)
vs. Lynchburg
Alumnae Day
Wed Jan 29
7:00 PM
Hollins
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Feb 05
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Roanoke
Sat Feb 08
4:30 PM
Lynchburg
at Guilford
Tue Feb 11
7:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Feb 15
4:30 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Feb 19
5:00 PM
Ferrum
vs. Lynchburg
Play4Kay Game
Sat Feb 22
2:00 PM
Randolph-Macon
vs. Lynchburg
Thu Feb 27
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ Salem Civic Center, Salem, Va. ODAC Quarterfinal
Sat Feb 29
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ Salem Civic Center, Salem, Va. ODAC Semifinal
Sun Mar 01
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ Salem Civic Center, Salem, Va. ODAC Championship
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.