Men's lacrosse stings Bridgewater in ODAC-opening win

Evan Lombardo attacks the goal.

Lynchburg, Va. -- The Lynchburg College men's lacrosse team got into the win column Saturday afternoon in a big way, blowing past Bridgewater, 21-7, in both teams' Old Dominion Athletic Conference opener.

Junior attackman Evan Lombardo (Franklin Park, N.J.) scored a game-best five goals for the Hornets, while senior attackman Shayne O'Brien (Duxbury, Mass.) added a hat trick and two assists.

Sophomore attackman Kevin Rogers (Leesburg, Va.), senior midfielder Chase Boyer (Richmond, Va.), and freshman midfielder Tye Mitchell (Woodbine, Md.) each had multi-goal games as well.

Junior attackman Logan Adams (Grosse Pointe, Mich.) tallied five assists.

 

THE RUNDOWN

Final: Lynchburg 21, Bridgewater 7

Records: Lynchburg (1-4, 1-0 ODAC), Bridgewater (5-1, 0-1 ODAC)

Venue: Shellenberger Field, Lynchburg College, Lynchburg, Va.

 

HOW IT HAPPENED

- Lynchburg controlled the game from the outset, scoring the first seven goals -- three of them on man-up opportunities. Lombardo had a hat trick in the first 10 minutes, while Adams collected three first-quarter assists.

- After Bridgewater got on the board at the end of the first, Lynchburg out-scored the Eagles 7-1 again in the second quarter for a 14-2 halftime lead. Lombardo added two more scores in the second.

- Mitchell and Boyer helped put a bow on the win with two goals each in the fourth quarter.

 

LOOKING AHEAD

Lynchburg will have a quick turnaround, heading back out on Sunday at 1 p.m. against Elizabethtown.

--LC--

Mon Sep 16
at Tom Kinder Memorial, Lakeview GC, Harrisonburg, Va. -- Day 1
Tue Sep 17
at Tom Kinder Memorial, Lakeview GC, Harrisonburg, Va. -- Day 2
Wed Sep 18
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Wed Sep 18
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Fri Sep 20
at ITA Southeast Regional Championship, University of Mary Washington, Fredericksburg, Va. -- Day 1
Sat Sep 21
at ITA Southeast Regional Championship, University of Mary Washington, Fredericksburg, Va. -- Day 2
Sat Sep 21
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Catholic
Sat Sep 21
2:00 PM
Southern Virginia
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Sep 21
2:00 PM
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
Parents Weekend
Sat Sep 21
4:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
vs. Lynchburg
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
Wed Aug 21
7:30 PM
Randolph
vs. Lynchburg
Scrimmage
Fri Aug 30
Final
4 Roanoke
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Non-conference match
Sat Sep 07
Final
0 Maryville (Tenn.)
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Regent
10 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Wed Sep 11
Final
2 No. 16 Mary Washington
0 vs. Lynchburg
Fri Sep 13
Final
1 No. 13 Oglethorpe
2 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Sep 18
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 21
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Catholic
Wed Sep 25
7:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Non-conference match
Sat Sep 28
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Roanoke
Wed Oct 02
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 09
7:00 PM
Randolph-Macon
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hampden-Sydney
Wed Oct 16
3:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 19
7:30 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Shenandoah
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Fri Nov 01
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- First Round
Sun Nov 03
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No Event
Sat Aug 31
Final
2 No. 10 Johns Hopkins
0 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sun Sep 01
Final
2 Mt. St. Mary (N.Y.)
7 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sat Sep 07
Final
1 Maryville (Tenn.)
2 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 1
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Kalamazoo
3 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 3
Sat Sep 14
Final - 2OT
2 No. 19 Lynchburg
3 at Emory
Sun Sep 15
Final
1 No. 19 Lynchburg
0 at Piedmont
Wed Sep 25
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 28
12:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 05
1:00 PM
Bridgewater (Va.)
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 09
4:00 PM
Randolph
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at East. Mennonite
Tue Oct 15
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Wed Oct 16
4:00 PM
Sweet Briar
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
5:00 PM
Roanoke
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sun Oct 27
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
1:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
No Event
View Full Schedule