No. 1 RIT holds off men's lacrosse

Kevin Rogers sets up the Lynchburg attack. Text: Kevin Rogers, 2 goals, 2 assists

Owings Mills, Md.-- The Lynchburg College men's lacrosse team suffered a 13-11 loss to No. 1 Rochester Institute Friday afternoon in the first game of the Mustang Classic, hosted by Stevenson. Junior attackman Evan Lombardo (Franklin Park, N.J.) scored four of the Hornets goals. Lombardo currently leads the ODAC with 26 goals.

Sophomore midfielder Kevin Rogers (Leesburg, Va.) collected another two goals and two assists for the Hornets. Junior face-off man Bo Delaney (Marstons Mills, Mass.) led the team with six ground balls.

 

THE RUNDOWN

Final: No. 1 RIT 13, Lynchburg 11

Records: Lynchburg 2-5, RIT 5-0

Venue: Mustang Stadium, Stevenson University, Owings Mills, Md.

 

HOW IT HAPPENED

  • RIT got an early jump on Lynchburg with the first two goals of the game, but Rogers answered back with two goals of his own ending the first quarter tied, 2-2.

  • The second quarter was a back-and-forth battle with three ties, but RIT was able to score one more goal over Lynchburg ending the half with a 6-5 lead.

  • With three consecutive goals, RIT took a 10-7 lead halfway through the third. Lynchburg responded with a goal from sophomore attackman Colin Dean (Havre de Grace, Md.) assisted by freshman attackman A.J. Nieves (Centreville, Va.) and an unassisted goal from Lombardo, closing the gap to one goal.

  • After RIT scored the first two goals of the fourth, Lynchburg cut the lead to one with 10:30 remaining on goals by Lombardo and senior attackman Colin McGuire (Odenton, Md.). The Tigers capitalized on a man-up opportunity with 6:52 remaining, giving the top-ranked team in the country some breathing room and bringing the score to its final standing.

 

LOOKING AHEAD

The Hornets will stay in Maryland to face Nazareth on Saturday at 12:30 p.m. at Mustang Stadium.

--LC--

 

Fri Sep 20
at ITA Southeast Regional Championship, University of Mary Washington, Fredericksburg, Va. -- Day 1
Sat Sep 21
at ITA Southeast Regional Championship, University of Mary Washington, Fredericksburg, Va. -- Day 2
Sat Sep 21
Fresno State
vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Match
Sat Sep 21
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Catholic
Sat Sep 21
2:00 PM
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
Parents Weekend
Sat Sep 21
2:00 PM
Southern Virginia
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Sep 21
4:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
vs. Lynchburg
Sun Sep 22
at Bridgewater Invitational, Lakeview GC, Harrisonburg, Va. -- Day 1
Sun Sep 22
at ITA Southeast Regional Championship, University of Mary Washington, Fredericksburg, Va. -- Day 3
Mon Sep 23
at Bridgewater Invitational, Lakeview GC, Harrisonburg, Va. -- Day 2
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Fri Nov 08
TBA
Lynchburg
vs. TBA
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
Wed Aug 21
7:30 PM
Randolph
vs. Lynchburg
Scrimmage
Fri Aug 30
Final
4 Roanoke
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Non-conference match
Sat Sep 07
Final
0 Maryville (Tenn.)
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Regent
10 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Wed Sep 11
Final
2 No. 16 Mary Washington
0 vs. Lynchburg
Fri Sep 13
Final
1 No. 13 Oglethorpe
2 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Sep 18
Final - 2OT
0 Lynchburg
0 at Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 21
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Catholic
Wed Sep 25
7:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Non-conference match
Sat Sep 28
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Roanoke
Wed Oct 02
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 09
7:00 PM
Randolph-Macon
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hampden-Sydney
Wed Oct 16
3:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 19
7:30 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Shenandoah
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Fri Nov 01
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- First Round
Sun Nov 03
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
View Full Schedule
No Event
Sat Aug 31
Final
2 No. 10 Johns Hopkins
0 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sun Sep 01
Final
2 Mt. St. Mary (N.Y.)
7 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sat Sep 07
Final
1 Maryville (Tenn.)
2 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 1
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Kalamazoo
3 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 3
Sat Sep 14
Final - 2OT
2 No. 19 Lynchburg
3 at Emory
Sun Sep 15
Final
1 No. 19 Lynchburg
0 at Piedmont
Wed Sep 25
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 28
12:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 05
1:00 PM
Bridgewater (Va.)
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 09
4:00 PM
Randolph
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at East. Mennonite
Tue Oct 15
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Wed Oct 16
4:00 PM
Sweet Briar
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
5:00 PM
Roanoke
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sun Oct 27
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
1:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Wed Nov 06
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ High Seed ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
View Full Schedule