Men's lacrosse falls in final seconds at Hampden-Sydney

Colin McGuire winds up to take a shot.

Lynchburg, Va. -- The Lynchburg College men's lacrosse team ended the regular season with a close 14-13 loss to Hampden-Sydney.

Senior midfielder Colin McGuire (Odenton, Md.) had a strong offensive showing, leading the Hornets with five goals along with one assist. Sophomore attackman Trammel Robinson (Memphis, Tenn.) picked up three ground balls and collected two goals. Senior goalie CJ Santora (Tewksbury, Mass.) made 14 saves in the net.

McGuire tied the game at 13-all with 40 seconds to play, but the Tigers' John Burke netted the game-winning goal with 7.8 seconds remaining.

 

THE RUNDOWN

Final: Hampden-Sydney 14, Lynchburg 13

Records: Lynchburg (9-8, 6-3 ODAC), Hampden-Sydney (13-4, 8-1 ODAC)

Venue: Everett Stadium, Hampden-Sydney College, Hampden-Sydney, Va.

 

HOW IT HAPPENED

  • The first quarter started out slow on both sides until sophomore midfielder Kevin Rogers (Leesburg, Va.) got Lynchburg on the board with an assist from McGuire. Hampden-Sydney responded by scoring the next three goals for a first-period lead. Junior attackman Logan Adams (Grosse Pointe, Mich.), assisted by Robinson, pushed in one more goal to end the quarter 3-2 in favor of the hosts.

  • Lynchburg managed to tie the game, 4-4, in the second quarter after a goal from Robinson, assisted by Adams. The teams traded leads, but it was Lynchburg who came out on top and went into the half ahead, 7-6.

  • Both teams collected three goals each leaving Lynchburg ahead, 10-9.

  • Still a close game, Lynchburg and Hampden-Sydney were tied four separate times in the fourth quarter. With only 40 seconds left in the game, McGuire tied up the game, 13-13, with an unassisted goal. Looking as though the game would go into overtime, Burke, assisted by Jack Hayden, scored the game winning goal for the Tigers with 7.8 seconds to play.

LOOKING AHEAD

Lynchburg will take the No. 4 seed into the upcoming conference tournament. The Hornets will play host to fifth-seeded Randolph-Macon on Tuesday, May 1 at 7 p.m. on Shellenberger Field. The winner of that game advances to the championship weekend, which will be played at Washington and Lee.

--LC--

Wed Sep 18
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Wed Sep 18
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Fri Sep 20
at ITA Southeast Regional Championship, University of Mary Washington, Fredericksburg, Va. -- Day 1
Sat Sep 21
at ITA Southeast Regional Championship, University of Mary Washington, Fredericksburg, Va. -- Day 2
Sat Sep 21
Fresno State
vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Match
Sat Sep 21
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Catholic
Sat Sep 21
2:00 PM
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
Parents Weekend
Sat Sep 21
2:00 PM
Southern Virginia
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Sep 21
4:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
vs. Lynchburg
Sun Sep 22
at Bridgewater Invitational, Lakeview GC, Harrisonburg, Va. -- Day 1
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
Wed Aug 21
7:30 PM
Randolph
vs. Lynchburg
Scrimmage
Fri Aug 30
Final
4 Roanoke
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Non-conference match
Sat Sep 07
Final
0 Maryville (Tenn.)
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Regent
10 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Wed Sep 11
Final
2 No. 16 Mary Washington
0 vs. Lynchburg
Fri Sep 13
Final
1 No. 13 Oglethorpe
2 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Sep 18
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 21
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Catholic
Wed Sep 25
7:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Non-conference match
Sat Sep 28
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Roanoke
Wed Oct 02
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 09
7:00 PM
Randolph-Macon
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hampden-Sydney
Wed Oct 16
3:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 19
7:30 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Shenandoah
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Fri Nov 01
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- First Round
Sun Nov 03
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No Event
Sat Aug 31
Final
2 No. 10 Johns Hopkins
0 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sun Sep 01
Final
2 Mt. St. Mary (N.Y.)
7 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sat Sep 07
Final
1 Maryville (Tenn.)
2 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 1
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Kalamazoo
3 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 3
Sat Sep 14
Final - 2OT
2 No. 19 Lynchburg
3 at Emory
Sun Sep 15
Final
1 No. 19 Lynchburg
0 at Piedmont
Wed Sep 25
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 28
12:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 05
1:00 PM
Bridgewater (Va.)
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 09
4:00 PM
Randolph
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at East. Mennonite
Tue Oct 15
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Wed Oct 16
4:00 PM
Sweet Briar
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
5:00 PM
Roanoke
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sun Oct 27
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
1:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Wed Nov 06
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ High Seed ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
View Full Schedule