Men's lacrosse falls at No. 9 Dickinson in NCAAs

Lynchburg men's lacrosse players celebrate a goal in a 16-12 NCAA tournament loss to Dickinson.

Carlisle, Pa. -- The Lynchburg College men's lacrosse team cut a six-goal deficit down to one early in the fourth quarter, but the Hornets couldn't complete the comeback, falling 16-12 to ninth-ranked Dickinson on the road in the second round of the NCAA Division III tournament at the Red Devils' Biddle Field in Carlisle, Pa.

Senior midfielder Colin McGuire (Odenton, Md.) led the Lynchburg offense with four goals and three assists, while sophomore midfielder Kevin Rogers (Leesburg, Va.) netted a game-high five goals to go with one assist.

Senior goalie CJ Santora (Tewksbury, Mass.) made 11 saves minding the net for Lynchburg, and junior midfielder Nick Willertz (Severn, Md.) picked up a team-best five ground balls and caused three turnovers.

Tucker Carney led Dicksinson's effort with a four-goal game.

The Red Devils assumed an early 2-0 advantage on goals by Tyler Strods and Brodie Phillips in the first five minutes of play.

Lynchburg tied the game with three of the next four scores -- the goals coming from junior attackman Evan Lombardo (Franklin Park, N.J.), Rogers, and McGuire -- but DC took a 4-3 lead with 12 seconds remaining in the first when Charlie DeMuth found the back of the net.

Dickinson took control in the second quarter, extending the late first-period goal into a 6-0 run that gave the hosts a 9-3 lead.

McGuire seized some momentum for LC with 8 seconds before halftime, netting the Hornets' fourth goal with an unassisted score, and Lynchburg entered the half down, 9-4.

LC was unable to take advantage of any of its four man-up opportunities in the half, though the Rogers' goal at the 2:55 mark in the first did come just after the teams were even following a Red Devils penalty.

The two teams traded goals in the early minutes of the third quarter, the Hornets' goals coming from McGuire, Rogers, and sophomore attackman Trammel Robinson (Memphis, Tenn.), but a man-up opportunity again swung the momentum to Lynchburg with just under 6 minutes left in the period. McGuire found senior attackman Shayne O'Brien (Duxbury, Mass.) for a score during the penalty, kicking off Lynchburg's 3-0 run that brought the period to a close. McGuire's pair of unassisted goals, his third and fourth of the game, made it 12-9 in favor of the Red Devils entering the fourth.

Rogers added another LC goal in the first minute of the fourth, and he scored again just over a minute later to cut the hosts' lead to one, 12-11.

That was as close as the Hornets would get, however, as Dickinson scored the next four goals to put the game away.

Rogers scored his game-high fifth goal with 1:29 to go to bring the score to its final standing. The five scores mark a career-high for the sophomore.

Dickinson (16-3) won the face-off battle by a 22-9 count, and the Red Devils also held a 39-23 advantage on ground balls.

Lynchburg (12-9) won its first Old Dominion Athletic Conference championship since 2015 this season and reached the NCAA tournament for the seventh-consecutive year.

The Hornets will await the unveiling of the All-ODAC teams on Thursday, May 10, which will kick off the postseason awards announcements for the 2018 campaign.

--LC--

No Event
Mon Oct 14
at VSGA Intercollegiate, Blacksburg CC, Blacksburg, Va. -- Day 1
Tue Oct 15
at VSGA Intercollegiate, Blacksburg CC, Blacksburg, Va. -- Day 2
Tue Oct 15
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Wed Oct 16
3:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Wed Oct 16
4:00 PM
Sweet Briar
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 16
7:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 16
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Fri Oct 18
5:30 p.m.
Bridgewater
vs. Lynchburg
Fri Oct 18
5:30 p.m.
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
at VSGA Intercollegiate, James River CC, Newport News, Va. -- Day 1
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Fri Nov 08
TBA
Lynchburg
vs. TBA
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Fri Nov 08
6:00 PM
Albertus Magnus
vs. Lynchburg
@ Hood College MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 09
TBA
Lynchburg
vs. TBA
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Wed Nov 13
7:30 PM
Lynchburg
at N.C. Wesleyan
Sat Nov 16
6:00 PM
Pfeiffer
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
3:00 PM
Methodist
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Fri Nov 22
TBA
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
@ Newport News, VA CNU Classic
Sat Nov 23
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Christopher Newport Classic -- Game 2
Sun Dec 01
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sun Nov 10
12:00 PM
Meredith
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Nov 12
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Fri Nov 15
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Emory
Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Sat Nov 16
2:00 PM
Colorado Col.
vs. Lynchburg
@ Emory University, Atlanta, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Wed Nov 20
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hollins
Mon Nov 25
7:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
Fri Aug 30
Final
4 Roanoke
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Non-conference match
Sat Sep 07
Final
0 Maryville (Tenn.)
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Regent
10 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Wed Sep 11
Final
2 No. 16 Mary Washington
0 vs. Lynchburg
Fri Sep 13
Final
1 No. 13 Oglethorpe
2 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Sep 18
Final - 2OT
0 Lynchburg
0 at Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 21
Final
0 Lynchburg
1 at Catholic
Wed Sep 25
Final - 2OT
0 No. 13 Washington and Lee
0 vs. Lynchburg
Non-conference match
Sat Sep 28
Final - 2OT
0 Lynchburg
0 at Roanoke
Wed Oct 02
Final - 2OT
2 Lynchburg
2 at Bridgewater (Va.)
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 09
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final - 2OT
3 Lynchburg
3 at Hampden-Sydney
Wed Oct 16
3:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 19
7:30 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Shenandoah
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Fri Nov 01
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- First Round
Sun Nov 03
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
Sat Nov 09
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Semifinal
Sun Nov 10
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Championship
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No Event
Sat Aug 31
Final
2 No. 10 Johns Hopkins
0 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sun Sep 01
Final
2 Mt. St. Mary (N.Y.)
7 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sat Sep 07
Final
1 Maryville (Tenn.)
2 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 1
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Kalamazoo
3 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 3
Sat Sep 14
Final - 2OT
2 No. 19 Lynchburg
3 at Emory
Sun Sep 15
Final
1 No. 19 Lynchburg
0 at Piedmont
Wed Sep 25
Final - 2OT
1 No. 23 Lynchburg
1 at No. 2 Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 28
Final
0 No. 23 Lynchburg
3 at Washington and Lee
Note time change
Sat Oct 05
Final
0 Bridgewater (Va.)
4 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 09
Final
1 Randolph
5 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final
5 Lynchburg
0 at East. Mennonite
Tue Oct 15
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Wed Oct 16
4:00 PM
Sweet Briar
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
5:00 PM
Roanoke
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sun Oct 27
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
1:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Wed Nov 06
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ High Seed ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
Sat Nov 09
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ Highest Seed ODAC Tournament -- Semifinal
Sun Nov 10
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ Highest Seed ODAC Tournament -- Championship
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule