Men's soccer wins thriller over Dickinson

Abibi Osman kicks a bicycle kick over a Dickinson defender in a soccer match. Graphic Lynchburg 4, Dickinson 3 with team logos.

Lynchburg, Va. -- University of Lynchburg's men's soccer team used some late heroics to remain unbeaten on the 2018 season, eeking out a 4-3 thriller over visiting Dickinson in Game 2 of the Shellenberger Classic Friday evening.

Sophomore forward Abibi Osman (Charlottesville, Va.) uncorked a hat trick, including a highlight-reel bicycle kick from the top of the box, in the slugfest between two 2017 NCAA tournament qualifiers. Sophomore midfielder Ben Mackey (Leesburg, Va.) hit the game-winner for the 21st-ranked Hornets in the 87th minute.

Dickinson goalkeeper Fred Meagher made 10 saves for the Red Devils.

Roanoke beat Christopher Newport, 2-1, in the first Shellenberger Classic match of the day.

 

THE RUNDOWN

Final: No. 21 Lynchburg 4, Dickinson 3

Records: No. 21 Lynchburg 3-0, Dickinson 1-1-1

Venue: Shellenberger Field, University of Lynchburg, Lynchburg, Va.

 

HOW IT HAPPENED

  • Dickinson capitalized on a pair of Lynchburg's defensive miscues to take a 2-0 first-half lead. Vard Van de Water struck a penalty kick after the Red Devils were fouled in the box in the 15th minute, and Frederick Cisse doubled the lead, chasing down a ball that the Hornet defense mishandled and scoring in the 38th.

  • The Hornets were unable to connect on any of their 10 first-half shots.

  • Lynchburg came out of the half with better focus, and it quickly manifest in points on the board. In the 48th minute, Osman finished a Mackey corner kick that first found the head of senior defender Clay Van Gieson (Gloucester, Va.) and then Osman's.

  • Seven minutes better, junior midfielder Jack Ashby (Lewes, Del.) headed a ball toward the top of the box, where Osman, waiting in traffic, flipped into a bicycle kick and finished over the keeper's outstretched arm.

  • The tie match didn't last long, as the Red Devils again took advantage of a Lynchburg defensive miscue. Senior goalkeeper Dylan McLaurin (Stafford, Va.) saved the first attempt, but Van de Water chased down the rebound in the box and found the back of the net.

  • Lynchburg was quick to retaliate, as freshman forward Joey Daly (Raleigh, N.C.) centered a ball in the box that Osman one-touched into the net in the 72nd minute.

  • The Hornets controlled the remainder of play with chance after chance, and they finally broke through again in the 87th. Senior midfielder Dan Friedberg (Blacksburg, Va.) headed a ball off the right post, and Mackey chased down the rebound and scored the go-ahead goal from close range.

  • The match was physical from start to finish, as Dickinson picked up 19 fouls and four yellow cards, and Lynchburg collected 15 fouls and three yellows.

 

LOOKING AHEAD

No. 21 Lynchburg puts its 3-0 record on the line again Saturday, Sept. 8 in the final match of the Shellenberger Classic, where the Hornets will play Christopher Newport at 7:30 p.m. The 5 p.m. match between Roanoke and Dickinson will precede it.

--LYN--

Men's soccer shuts out Guilford
September 22, 2018 Men's soccer shuts out Guilford
No Event
Mon Oct 14
at VSGA Intercollegiate, Blacksburg CC, Blacksburg, Va. -- Day 1
Tue Oct 15
at VSGA Intercollegiate, Blacksburg CC, Blacksburg, Va. -- Day 2
Tue Oct 15
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Wed Oct 16
3:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Wed Oct 16
4:00 PM
Sweet Briar
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 16
7:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 16
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Fri Oct 18
6 p.m.
Bridgewater
vs. Lynchburg
Fri Oct 18
6 p.m.
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
at VSGA Intercollegiate, James River CC, Newport News, Va. -- Day 1
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Fri Nov 08
TBA
Lynchburg
vs. TBA
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Fri Nov 08
6:00 PM
Albertus Magnus
vs. Lynchburg
@ Hood College MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 09
TBA
Lynchburg
vs. TBA
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Wed Nov 13
7:30 PM
Lynchburg
at N.C. Wesleyan
Sat Nov 16
6:00 PM
Pfeiffer
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
3:00 PM
Methodist
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Fri Nov 22
TBA
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
@ Newport News, VA CNU Classic
Sat Nov 23
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Christopher Newport Classic -- Game 2
Sun Dec 01
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sun Nov 10
12:00 PM
Meredith
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Nov 12
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Fri Nov 15
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Emory
Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Sat Nov 16
2:00 PM
Colorado Col.
vs. Lynchburg
@ Emory University, Atlanta, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Wed Nov 20
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hollins
Mon Nov 25
7:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
Fri Aug 30
Final
4 Roanoke
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Non-conference match
Sat Sep 07
Final
0 Maryville (Tenn.)
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Regent
10 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Wed Sep 11
Final
2 No. 16 Mary Washington
0 vs. Lynchburg
Fri Sep 13
Final
1 No. 13 Oglethorpe
2 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Sep 18
Final - 2OT
0 Lynchburg
0 at Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 21
Final
0 Lynchburg
1 at Catholic
Wed Sep 25
Final - 2OT
0 No. 13 Washington and Lee
0 vs. Lynchburg
Non-conference match
Sat Sep 28
Final - 2OT
0 Lynchburg
0 at Roanoke
Wed Oct 02
Final - 2OT
2 Lynchburg
2 at Bridgewater (Va.)
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 09
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final - 2OT
3 Lynchburg
3 at Hampden-Sydney
Wed Oct 16
3:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 19
7:30 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Shenandoah
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Fri Nov 01
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- First Round
Sun Nov 03
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
Sat Nov 09
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Semifinal
Sun Nov 10
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Championship
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No Event
Sat Aug 31
Final
2 No. 10 Johns Hopkins
0 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sun Sep 01
Final
2 Mt. St. Mary (N.Y.)
7 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sat Sep 07
Final
1 Maryville (Tenn.)
2 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 1
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Kalamazoo
3 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 3
Sat Sep 14
Final - 2OT
2 No. 19 Lynchburg
3 at Emory
Sun Sep 15
Final
1 No. 19 Lynchburg
0 at Piedmont
Wed Sep 25
Final - 2OT
1 No. 23 Lynchburg
1 at No. 2 Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 28
Final
0 No. 23 Lynchburg
3 at Washington and Lee
Note time change
Sat Oct 05
Final
0 Bridgewater (Va.)
4 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 09
Final
1 Randolph
5 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final
5 Lynchburg
0 at East. Mennonite
Tue Oct 15
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Wed Oct 16
4:00 PM
Sweet Briar
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
5:00 PM
Roanoke
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sun Oct 27
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
1:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Wed Nov 06
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ High Seed ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
Sat Nov 09
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ Highest Seed ODAC Tournament -- Semifinal
Sun Nov 10
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ Highest Seed ODAC Tournament -- Championship
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule