Six Hornets named to All-ODAC softball teams

Pictured: the six Lynchburg College softball All-ODAC players with the Lynchburg Hornet logo in the center.

Forest, Va. -- Six Lynchburg College softball players were named to the Old Dominion Athletic Conference's all-conference teams, the league announced Tuesday morning.

Two Hornets, senior second baseman Leslie Bourgeois (Bealeton, Va.) and junior catcher Brittany Coffey (Manassas, Va.), earned first-team All-ODAC honors, while four players -- junior third baseman Taylor Mabry (Bassett, Va.), sophomore shortstop Kayla Hugate (Chesterfield, Va.), senior center fielder Skylar Dickens (Virginia Beach, Va.), and sophomore designated player Sarah Commons (Glen Allen, Va.) -- took second-team honors.

It marks the seventh-straight year that Lynchburg has placed at least four players on the all-conference teams, and 2018 is the third time in four seasons that LC has had at least six All-ODAC honorees.

League champion and defending national champion Virginia Wesleyan swept the major awards, as sophomores Madison Glaubke and Hanna Hull were named the ODAC player and pitcher of the year, respectively, and Marlins mentor Brandon Elliott repeated as the league's coach of the year. Randolph-Macon's Madie Rhoads was tabbed the league's top rookie, and Emory & Henry junior Erin Anderson was dubbed the conference's scholar-athlete.

As for Lynchburg, the awards touted one of the conference's and region's best offenses.

Bourgeois, a three-time all-league pick, hit .359 with four home runs, eight doubles, 26 RBI and seven stolen bases.

Coffey heated up during conference play to hit .373 against ODAC opponents and tallied a homer and 23 RBI.

Mabry slugged a team-leading 10 home runs and carried a .411 batting average and .718 slugging percentage through the year. She was second in the conference in home runs and third in slugging.

Hugate earned her second conference accolade with a team-leading two triples to go with 30 RBI and a .365 average.

Dickens became a three-time All-ODAC pick, hitting .367 with a team-leading 54 hits and nine stolen bases.

Commons led the Hornets in batting average for her second appearance on the all-league list, hitting .427 with a homer, eight doubles, 30 RBI, and 25 runs scored.

Lynchburg (30-12) earned its 10th 30-win season, all under current head coach Dawn Simmons, this year and was ranked seventh in the most recent Atlantic Region rankings by the Division III selection committee. The Hornets will learn if they made the national tournament field during the NCAA selection show on Monday, May 7.

--LC--

Wed Oct 16
3:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Wed Oct 16
4:00 PM
Sweet Briar
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 16
7:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. No. 19 Lynchburg
Wed Oct 16
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Fri Oct 18
5:30 p.m.
Bridgewater
vs. Lynchburg
Fri Oct 18
5:30 p.m.
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
at VSGA Intercollegiate, James River CC, Newport News, Va. -- Day 1
Sat Oct 19
at Inter-Regional Rumble
Gloucester County DREAM Park, Logan Township, N.J.
Sat Oct 19
at Bridgewater IHSA
Sat Oct 19
2:30 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. No. 19 Lynchburg
Senior Day | Homecoming
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Fri Nov 08
TBA
Lynchburg
vs. TBA
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Fri Nov 08
6:00 PM
Albertus Magnus
vs. Lynchburg
@ Hood College MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 09
TBA
Lynchburg
vs. TBA
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Wed Nov 13
7:30 PM
Lynchburg
at N.C. Wesleyan
Sat Nov 16
6:00 PM
Pfeiffer
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
3:00 PM
Methodist
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Fri Nov 22
TBA
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
@ Newport News, VA CNU Classic
Sat Nov 23
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Christopher Newport Classic -- Game 2
Sun Dec 01
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
View Full Schedule
Sun Nov 10
12:00 PM
Meredith
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Nov 12
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Fri Nov 15
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Emory
Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Sat Nov 16
2:00 PM
Colorado Col.
vs. Lynchburg
@ Emory University, Atlanta, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Wed Nov 20
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hollins
Mon Nov 25
7:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
Fri Aug 30
Final
4 Roanoke
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Non-conference match
Sat Sep 07
Final
0 Maryville (Tenn.)
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Regent
10 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Wed Sep 11
Final
2 No. 16 Mary Washington
0 vs. Lynchburg
Fri Sep 13
Final
1 No. 13 Oglethorpe
2 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Sep 18
Final - 2OT
0 Lynchburg
0 at Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 21
Final
0 Lynchburg
1 at Catholic
Wed Sep 25
Final - 2OT
0 No. 13 Washington and Lee
0 vs. Lynchburg
Non-conference match
Sat Sep 28
Final - 2OT
0 Lynchburg
0 at Roanoke
Wed Oct 02
Final - 2OT
2 Lynchburg
2 at Bridgewater (Va.)
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 09
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final - 2OT
3 Lynchburg
3 at Hampden-Sydney
Wed Oct 16
3:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 19
7:30 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Shenandoah
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Fri Nov 01
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- First Round
Sun Nov 03
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
Sat Nov 09
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Semifinal
Sun Nov 10
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Championship
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Aug 31
Final
2 No. 10 Johns Hopkins
0 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sun Sep 01
Final
2 Mt. St. Mary (N.Y.)
7 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sat Sep 07
Final
1 Maryville (Tenn.)
2 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 1
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Kalamazoo
3 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 3
Sat Sep 14
Final - 2OT
2 No. 19 Lynchburg
3 at Emory
Sun Sep 15
Final
1 No. 19 Lynchburg
0 at Piedmont
Wed Sep 25
Final - 2OT
1 No. 23 Lynchburg
1 at No. 2 Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 28
Final
0 No. 23 Lynchburg
3 at Washington and Lee
Note time change
Sat Oct 05
Final
0 Bridgewater (Va.)
4 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 09
Final
1 Randolph
5 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final
5 Lynchburg
0 at East. Mennonite
Tue Oct 15
Final
3 Lynchburg
0 at Ferrum
Wed Oct 16
4:00 PM
Sweet Briar
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
5:00 PM
Roanoke
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sun Oct 27
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
1:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Wed Nov 06
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ High Seed ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
Sat Nov 09
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ Highest Seed ODAC Tournament -- Semifinal
Sun Nov 10
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ Highest Seed ODAC Tournament -- Championship
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule