No. 17 softball wins Super Regional opener with late rally

Kayley Cox delivering a pitch in a softball game

Lynchburg, Va. -- University of Lynchburg's softball team woke the bats up in the fifth inning rallying for four runs to come from behind in a 7-2 win over No. 18 Emory University in Game 1 of the NCAA Division III Lynchburg, Virginia Super Regional.

The 17th-ranked Hornets will look to wrap up the best-of-three series Saturday, May 18 at 2 p.m. on their own Moon Field.

Sophomore right-hander Kayley Cox (Yorktown, Va.) nailed down her sixth save of the season for the Hornets, putting her in sole possession of both Lynchburg's and the Old Dominion Athletic Conference's single-season saves record.

Cox entered for junior right-hander Alex Cisar (Sykesville, Md.) with the bases loaded and one out in the bottom of the sixth inning (Lynchburg was playing as the visiting team.) and wriggled out of the jam without a run crossing the plate.

Cisar pulled a Houdini act of her own earlier in the ballgame. The righty came in in relief of senior right-hander Taylor Belknap (Arden, N.C.) in the second inning with nobody out and runners on second and third, and got out of the jam with two groundouts and a lineout.

Cisar earned the win, her 16th of the season, with 4 ⅓ shutout innings of work.

Things didn't look so good for the Hornets in the beginning. Emory scored a first-inning run after a leadoff triple by Jenna Wilson and the ensuing RBI single from Sarah Katz. The Eagles got a third-straight hit off Belknap, but the senior set the next trio down in order to escape the jam.

Meanwhile, Eagles pitcher Toko Miller held the potent Lynchburg offense in check as the Hornets managed just two hits in the first four innings.

Lynchburg finally broke through in the fifth as the bottom of the order sparked a four-run rally. Junior left fielder Carol Oberhelman (Washington Township, N.J.) tied the game with an RBI single up the middle, and senior third baseman Taylor Mabry (Bassett, Va.) gave Lynchburg the lead with a run-scoring single to right field. Lynchburg added two more runs on RBI outs by senior first baseman Mackenzie Chitwood (Ferrum, Va.) and senior catcher Brittany Coffey (Manassas, Va.) to take a 4-1 lead.

The Hornets rallied again with two out in the fifth, sparked by a single off the bat of sophomore right fielder Kortney Leazer (Remington, Va.), followed by another sharp single from Oberhelman.

Junior shortstop Kayla Hugate (Chesterfield, Va.) came through with an RBI single, one of her three hits, and Mabry followed with another RBI knock to make it 6-1.

Lynchburg extended the lead to 7-1 when Coffey led off the seventh with a solo home run.

Cox allowed a seventh-inning run but avoided any further damage to cinch the win.

The two teams will continue the best-of-three series Saturday, May 17 at 2 p.m. on Lynchburg's Moon Field. The Hornets will be the home team for Game 2 and, if necessary, Game 3, which will follow the 2 p.m. start Saturday if the teams need to break a one-to-one tie.

Please visit the Lynchburg, Virginia Super Regional homepage for more information on Saturday action, including parking, which is imperative due to Lynchburg's commencement ceremonies.

--LYN--

Softball unveils 2019 schedule
September 13, 2018 Softball unveils 2019 schedule
Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Fri Dec 20
4:00 PM
Hood
vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Marymount (Va.)
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Wed Jan 01
2:00 PM
William Peace
vs. Lynchburg
Thu Jan 02
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 04
4:30 PM
Johns Hopkins
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Jan 07
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Jan 08
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Sat Jan 11
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Fri Nov 08
Final
87 Lynchburg
78 vs. Albertus Magnus
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 09
Final
62 Lynchburg
75 at Hood
MMI Tip-Off Championship
Wed Nov 13
Final
88 Lynchburg
68 at N.C. Wesleyan
Sat Nov 16
Final
69 Hampden-Sydney
74 vs. Methodist
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 1
Sat Nov 16
Final
80 Pfeiffer
91 vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
Final
99 Hampden-Sydney
108 vs. Pfeiffer
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 3
Sun Nov 17
Final
69 Methodist
93 vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Fri Nov 22
Final
84 Lynchburg
88 vs. Mary Washington
@ Newport News, Va. CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 1
Sat Nov 23
Final
77 Lynchburg
79 at No. 9 Chris. Newport
CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 4
Sun Dec 01
Final
81 Lynchburg
68 at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
Final
73 Lynchburg
78 at Ferrum
Sat Dec 07
Final
51 East. Mennonite
90 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Wed Jan 01
2:00 PM
William Peace
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Jan 08
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Wed Jan 15
7:30 PM
Hampden-Sydney
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 18
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Emory & Henry
Wed Jan 22
7:00 PM
Ferrum
vs. Lynchburg
Coaches vs. Cancer Week
Sat Jan 25
2:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Alumni Day | Coaches vs. Cancer Week
Wed Jan 29
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Roanoke
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sun Nov 10
Final
60 Meredith
81 vs. Lynchburg
Tue Nov 12
Final
39 Lynchburg
70 at Averett
Fri Nov 15
Final
39 Lynchburg
52 at Emory
Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic (Game Played at Agnes Scott)
Sat Nov 16
Final
64 Colorado Col.
76 vs. Lynchburg
@ Agnes Scott College, Decatur, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Wed Nov 20
Final
73 Lynchburg
60 at Hollins
Mon Nov 25
Final
61 East. Mennonite
82 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 04
Final
58 Lynchburg
49 at Randolph
Sat Dec 07
Final
67 Emory & Henry
56 vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Game
Fri Dec 20
4:00 PM
Hood
vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Marymount (Va.)
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Thu Jan 02
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sat Jan 04
4:30 PM
Johns Hopkins
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Jan 07
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 11
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Jan 15
5:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 18
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Wed Jan 22
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Sat Jan 25
4:30 PM
Bridgewater (Va.)
vs. Lynchburg
Alumnae Day
Wed Jan 29
7:00 PM
Hollins
vs. Lynchburg
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Wed Oct 23
Final
1 Shenandoah
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
Final
3 Lynchburg
1 at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
Final - OT
0 Guilford
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Sun Nov 03
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
2 vs. Lynchburg
Match 3 - ODAC Quarterfinal
Fri Nov 08
Final - PK Away
2 Lynchburg
2 at Hampden-Sydney
Match 6 - ODAC Semifinal
Sat Nov 09
Final
0 Lynchburg
1 vs. No. 11 Washington and Lee
@ Hampden-Sydney College, Hampden Sydney, Va. Match 8 - ODAC Championship
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Thu Oct 24
Final
3 Lynchburg
4 at No. 15 Randolph-Macon
Moved from Oct. 23
Sun Oct 27
Final
1 Lynchburg
2 at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
Final
2 Lynchburg
1 at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
Final - OT
2 Va. Wesleyan
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Mon Nov 04
Final
0 East. Mennonite
4 vs. Lynchburg
Match 1 - ODAC First Round
Wed Nov 06
Final
1 Lynchburg
4 at No. 14 Randolph-Macon
Match 2 - ODAC Quarterfinals
View Full Schedule