No. 17 softball eliminated from Super Regional

Photo of Brittany Coffey hitting a home run

Lynchburg, Va. -- University of Lynchburg's softball team fell twice Saturday afternoon to No. 18 Emory University, 9-5 and 10-8, as the Eagles captured the NCAA Division III Lynchburg, Virginia Super Regional championship and clinched one of eight berths to the national championships next week in Tyler, Texas.

No. 17 Lynchburg won the best-of-three series' first ballgame Friday afternoon.

Senior catcher Brittany Coffey (Manassas, Va.) had a career day, going 5-for-8 with two doubles and a home run at the plate and playing stellar defense behind it. Junior shortstop Kayla Hugate (Chesterfield, Va.) and senior first baseman Mackenzie Chitwood (Ferrum, Va.) each had two hits.

Game 1 started well for Emory U., as shortstop Cassie Baca ripped a first-inning RBI single, but the Hornets rallied back in the bottom half on Coffey's RBI double that scored Hugate.

Coffey put the Hornets ahead, 3-1, in the third inning with a two-run home run to left, her second of the weekend.

The Eagles cut the lead to 3-2 an inning later, but the big blow came in the form of a seven-run sixth inning. Two pitching changes couldn't get Lynchburg out of the inning, and the Hornets brought their starter, junior right-hander Alex Cisar (Sykesville, Md.) back in to finish the frame she'd started.

Lynchburg struck back with a two-run double from Chitwood, but the Hornets couldn't get any more runs across, and the Eagles took the opener.

Game 2 started much better for the Hornets, as Lynchburg took a 6-1 lead after two innings. Junior second baseman Sarah Commons (Glen Allen, Va.) started the rally with a leadoff single, and junior left fielder Carol Oberhelman (Washington Township, N.J.) brought her in with a bases-loaded single up the middle. Hugate brought in Lynchburg's second run with a sacrifice fly, and Lynchburg also scored on a wild pitch, an Eagles error, and Coffey's two-run double off the center-field fence to take the commanding lead.

Emory fought back with two runs in the fourth, however, and three more in the fifth to tie the game at 6. The Eagles rallied again in the sixth to take a 9-6 lead, and Mattie Ryan's leadoff homer in the seventh inning put Emory ahead 10-6 heading into Lynchburg's last chance.

The Hornets got started on the right foot thanks to a leadoff walk by senior third baseman Taylor Mabry (Bassett, Va.), and Chitwood followed with a walk to give Lynchburg two baserunners. Coffey singled through the left side to load the bases, and the Hornets scored on RBI groundouts by Commons and sophomore center fielder Haylee Wood (Goode, Va.) to cut the deficit to 10-8.

After a single and a walk, Oberhelman struck a line drive that was snagged by Eagles second baseman Sarah Katz to end the ballgame and the Hornets' season.

Emory's Baca earned most outstanding player honors for the series, while Eagles left-hander Madison Schaefer earned a win and a save in Saturday's action to be named most outstanding pitcher.

Lynchburg finishes the season with a 37-15 record, the second-most wins in program history.

The 2019 season marked the seventh NCAA tournament berth for the Hornets and the second time Lynchburg advanced past the regional round.

--LYN--

Softball unveils 2019 schedule
September 13, 2018 Softball unveils 2019 schedule
Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Fri Dec 20
4:00 PM
Hood
vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Marymount (Va.)
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Wed Jan 01
2:00 PM
William Peace
vs. Lynchburg
Thu Jan 02
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 04
4:30 PM
Johns Hopkins
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Jan 07
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Jan 08
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Sat Jan 11
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Fri Nov 08
Final
87 Lynchburg
78 vs. Albertus Magnus
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 09
Final
62 Lynchburg
75 at Hood
MMI Tip-Off Championship
Wed Nov 13
Final
88 Lynchburg
68 at N.C. Wesleyan
Sat Nov 16
Final
69 Hampden-Sydney
74 vs. Methodist
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 1
Sat Nov 16
Final
80 Pfeiffer
91 vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
Final
99 Hampden-Sydney
108 vs. Pfeiffer
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 3
Sun Nov 17
Final
69 Methodist
93 vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Fri Nov 22
Final
84 Lynchburg
88 vs. Mary Washington
@ Newport News, Va. CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 1
Sat Nov 23
Final
77 Lynchburg
79 at No. 9 Chris. Newport
CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 4
Sun Dec 01
Final
81 Lynchburg
68 at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
Final
73 Lynchburg
78 at Ferrum
Sat Dec 07
Final
51 East. Mennonite
90 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Wed Jan 01
2:00 PM
William Peace
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Jan 08
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Wed Jan 15
7:30 PM
Hampden-Sydney
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 18
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Emory & Henry
Wed Jan 22
7:00 PM
Ferrum
vs. Lynchburg
Coaches vs. Cancer Week
Sat Jan 25
2:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Alumni Day | Coaches vs. Cancer Week
Wed Jan 29
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Roanoke
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sun Nov 10
Final
60 Meredith
81 vs. Lynchburg
Tue Nov 12
Final
39 Lynchburg
70 at Averett
Fri Nov 15
Final
39 Lynchburg
52 at Emory
Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic (Game Played at Agnes Scott)
Sat Nov 16
Final
64 Colorado Col.
76 vs. Lynchburg
@ Agnes Scott College, Decatur, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Wed Nov 20
Final
73 Lynchburg
60 at Hollins
Mon Nov 25
Final
61 East. Mennonite
82 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 04
Final
58 Lynchburg
49 at Randolph
Sat Dec 07
Final
67 Emory & Henry
56 vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Game
Fri Dec 20
4:00 PM
Hood
vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Marymount (Va.)
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Thu Jan 02
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sat Jan 04
4:30 PM
Johns Hopkins
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Jan 07
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 11
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Jan 15
5:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 18
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Wed Jan 22
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Sat Jan 25
4:30 PM
Bridgewater (Va.)
vs. Lynchburg
Alumnae Day
Wed Jan 29
7:00 PM
Hollins
vs. Lynchburg
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Wed Oct 23
Final
1 Shenandoah
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
Final
3 Lynchburg
1 at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
Final - OT
0 Guilford
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Sun Nov 03
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
2 vs. Lynchburg
Match 3 - ODAC Quarterfinal
Fri Nov 08
Final - PK Away
2 Lynchburg
2 at Hampden-Sydney
Match 6 - ODAC Semifinal
Sat Nov 09
Final
0 Lynchburg
1 vs. No. 11 Washington and Lee
@ Hampden-Sydney College, Hampden Sydney, Va. Match 8 - ODAC Championship
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Thu Oct 24
Final
3 Lynchburg
4 at No. 15 Randolph-Macon
Moved from Oct. 23
Sun Oct 27
Final
1 Lynchburg
2 at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
Final
2 Lynchburg
1 at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
Final - OT
2 Va. Wesleyan
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Mon Nov 04
Final
0 East. Mennonite
4 vs. Lynchburg
Match 1 - ODAC First Round
Wed Nov 06
Final
1 Lynchburg
4 at No. 14 Randolph-Macon
Match 2 - ODAC Quarterfinals
View Full Schedule