Women's basketball announces 2019-20 game schedule

Photo of Maggie Quarles passing a basketball in a Lynchburg game

Lynchburg, Va. -- University of Lynchburg athletics and head women's basketball coach Abby Pyzik Smith are thrilled to announce the Hornets' 2019-20 game schedule.

Lynchburg's slate features 10 home dates and a pair of trips south for tournaments against some of the top competition in NCAA Division III.

The Hornets will tip off the 2019-20 season at home in Turner Gymnasium, Sunday, Nov. 10 against Meredith at noon.

Lynchburg will then hit the road for its next four contests, including a weekend trip to Emory University's season-opening tournament in Atlanta, Ga., and the following Wednesday, Nov. 20, the Old Dominion Athletic Conference opener at Hollins.

The Hornets will close out November at home with a Nov. 25 date with ODAC foe Eastern Mennonite, and they will remain in Lynchburg for conference play through early December, heading across town to clash with Randolph and welcoming Emory & Henry to town.

The holidays will take Lynchburg south again, this time to Daytona Beach, Fla., where tournament dates with Hood and Marymount await. The team will then return to Virginia to open up the new year in a return to ODAC play at Randolph-Macon Jan. 2.

Home dates with Johns Hopkins and Guilford follow, and Lynchburg will also play host to Washington and Lee, Bridgewater, and Hollins to round out January.

February brings Virginia Wesleyan, Ferrum, and Randolph-Macon to Lakeside Drive before the team gears up for postseason play. The ODAC tournament is scheduled for Feb. 27-March 1 at its usual home, the Salem Civic Center.

The Hornets are looking to improve on a 13-13 campaign a year ago, one that included a trip to the Old Dominion Athletic Conference tournament. Lynchburg returns all but two players from that team.

View the full 2019-20 Lynchburg women's basketball schedule below.

2019-20 Lynchburg Women's Basketball Schedule

Overall 5-3
Pct. .625
Conf. 3-1
Pct. .750
Streak Lost 1
Home 2-1
Away 2-2
Neutral 1-0
Games 8
Pts per game 63.0
FG % 40.9
3PT % 29.4
FT % 53.4
Reb per game 38.8
Ast per game 14.6
Date Opponent Notes Result Status Links
November
Sun. 10 vs. Meredith W, 81-60 Final
Tue. 12 at Averett L, 70-39 Final
Fri. 15 at Emory Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic (Game Played at Agnes Scott) L, 52-39 Final
Sat. 16 vs. Colorado Col. @ Agnes Scott College, Decatur, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic W, 76-64 Final
Wed. 20 at Hollins * W, 73-60 Final
Mon. 25 vs. East. Mennonite * W, 82-61 Final
 
December
Wed. 4 at Randolph * W, 58-49 Final
Sat. 7 vs. Emory & Henry * CODE RED Game L, 67-56 Final
Fri. 20 vs. Hood @ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout 4:00 PM
Sat. 21 vs. Marymount (Va.) @ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout 4:00 PM
 
January
Thu. 2 at Randolph-Macon * 7:00 PM
Sat. 4 vs. Johns Hopkins 4:30 PM
Tue. 7 vs. Guilford * 7:00 PM
Sat. 11 at Shenandoah * 2:00 PM
Wed. 15 vs. Washington and Lee * 5:00 PM
Sat. 18 at Va. Wesleyan * 2:00 PM
Wed. 22 at Ferrum * 7:00 PM
Sat. 25 vs. Bridgewater (Va.) * Alumnae Day 4:30 PM
Wed. 29 vs. Hollins * 7:00 PM
 
February
Wed. 5 at Roanoke * 7:00 PM
Sat. 8 at Guilford * 4:30 PM
Tue. 11 vs. Va. Wesleyan * 7:00 PM
Sat. 15 at Bridgewater (Va.) * 4:30 PM
Wed. 19 vs. Ferrum * Play4Kay Game 5:00 PM
Sat. 22 vs. Randolph-Macon * 2:00 PM
Thu. 27 vs. TBD % @ Salem Civic Center, Salem, Va. ODAC Quarterfinal TBA
Sat. 29 vs. TBD % @ Salem Civic Center, Salem, Va. ODAC Semifinal TBA
 
March
Sun. 1 vs. TBD % @ Salem Civic Center, Salem, Va. ODAC Championship TBA
* Conference
% Post season
Bold team: Home event

--LYN--

Fri Dec 20
4:00 PM
Hood
vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Marymount (Va.)
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Wed Jan 01
2:00 PM
William Peace
vs. Lynchburg
Thu Jan 02
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 04
4:30 PM
Johns Hopkins
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Jan 07
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Jan 08
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Sat Jan 11
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Jan 15
5:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Fri Nov 08
Final
87 Lynchburg
78 vs. Albertus Magnus
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 09
Final
62 Lynchburg
75 at Hood
MMI Tip-Off Championship
Wed Nov 13
Final
88 Lynchburg
68 at N.C. Wesleyan
Sat Nov 16
Final
69 Hampden-Sydney
74 vs. Methodist
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 1
Sat Nov 16
Final
80 Pfeiffer
91 vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
Final
99 Hampden-Sydney
108 vs. Pfeiffer
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 3
Sun Nov 17
Final
69 Methodist
93 vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Fri Nov 22
Final
84 Lynchburg
88 vs. Mary Washington
@ Newport News, Va. CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 1
Sat Nov 23
Final
77 Lynchburg
79 at No. 9 Chris. Newport
CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 4
Sun Dec 01
Final
81 Lynchburg
68 at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
Final
73 Lynchburg
78 at Ferrum
Sat Dec 07
Final
51 East. Mennonite
90 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 11
Final
61 Lynchburg
42 at Averett
Wed Jan 01
2:00 PM
William Peace
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Jan 08
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Wed Jan 15
7:30 PM
Hampden-Sydney
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 18
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Emory & Henry
Wed Jan 22
7:00 PM
Ferrum
vs. Lynchburg
Coaches vs. Cancer Week
Sat Jan 25
2:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Alumni Day | Coaches vs. Cancer Week
Wed Jan 29
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Roanoke
Sat Feb 01
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sun Nov 10
Final
60 Meredith
81 vs. Lynchburg
Tue Nov 12
Final
39 Lynchburg
70 at Averett
Fri Nov 15
Final
39 Lynchburg
52 at Emory
Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic (Game Played at Agnes Scott)
Sat Nov 16
Final
64 Colorado Col.
76 vs. Lynchburg
@ Agnes Scott College, Decatur, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Wed Nov 20
Final
73 Lynchburg
60 at Hollins
Mon Nov 25
Final
61 East. Mennonite
82 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 04
Final
58 Lynchburg
49 at Randolph
Sat Dec 07
Final
67 Emory & Henry
56 vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Game
Fri Dec 20
4:00 PM
Hood
vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Marymount (Va.)
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Thu Jan 02
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sat Jan 04
4:30 PM
Johns Hopkins
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Jan 07
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 11
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Jan 15
5:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 18
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Wed Jan 22
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Sat Jan 25
4:30 PM
Bridgewater (Va.)
vs. Lynchburg
Alumnae Day
Wed Jan 29
7:00 PM
Hollins
vs. Lynchburg
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
Sat Oct 26
Final
3 Lynchburg
1 at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
Final - OT
0 Guilford
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Sun Nov 03
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
2 vs. Lynchburg
Match 3 - ODAC Quarterfinal
Fri Nov 08
Final - PK Away
2 Lynchburg
2 at Hampden-Sydney
Match 6 - ODAC Semifinal
Sat Nov 09
Final
0 Lynchburg
1 vs. No. 11 Washington and Lee
@ Hampden-Sydney College, Hampden Sydney, Va. Match 8 - ODAC Championship
View Full Schedule
Sun Oct 27
Final
1 Lynchburg
2 at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
Final
2 Lynchburg
1 at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
Final - OT
2 Va. Wesleyan
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Mon Nov 04
Final
0 East. Mennonite
4 vs. Lynchburg
Match 1 - ODAC First Round
Wed Nov 06
Final
1 Lynchburg
4 at No. 14 Randolph-Macon
Match 2 - ODAC Quarterfinals
View Full Schedule