Women's golf set for inaugural fall season

Photo of women's golfer swinging a club

Lynchburg, Va. -- University of Lynchburg athletics and director of men's and women's golf Michael Veverka are pleased to announce the fall schedule for the inaugural season of Hornet women's golf.

The team will tee off for the first time in more than 50 years on Saturday, Sept. 14 at Southern Virginia University's Knights Invitational at Vista Links Golf Club in Buena Vista, the first of five tournaments on the autumn schedule.

Lynchburg will hit the road the following weekend for Bridgewater College's invitational at Lakeview Golf Course in Harrisonburg, Va., and the following weekend for Emory & Henry's invitational, set for Glenrochie Country Club in Abingdon, Va.

The Hornets will finish out the fall season in October with a trip to Shenandoah's Greene Turtle Invitational at Shenandoah Valley Golf Club in Front Royal and the Virginia State Golf Association Intercollegiate at James River Country Club in Newport News.

Lynchburg sponsored women's golf in 1967 and 1968 but has not offered the sport since.

View the full 2019 Lynchburg women's golf fall schedule below. The spring schedule will be announced later in the year as tournament entries are finalized.

2019-20 Lynchburg Women's Golf Schedule

Date Event Result Links
 
September
Sat. 14 at Knights Invitational, Lexington GCC, Lexington, Va.
Mon. 23 at Bridgewater Invitational, Lakeview GC, Harrisonburg, Va. -- Day 1
Tue. 24 at Bridgewater Invitational, Lakeview GC, Harrisonburg, Va. -- Day 2 4th/8
Mon. 30 at Emory & Henry Invitational, Glenrochie CC, Abingdon, Va. -- Day 1
 
October
Tue. 1 at Emory & Henry Invitational, Glenrochie CC, Abingdon, Va. -- Day 2 3rd/4
Sat. 5 at Greene Turtle Invitational, Shenandoah Valley GC, Front Royal, Va. 2nd/7
Sat. 19 at VSGA Intercollegiate, James River CC, Newport News, Va. -- Day 1 2nd/5
Sun. 20 at VSGA Intercollegiate, James River CC, Newport News, Va. -- Day 2 Cancelled
 
March
Mon. 9 Hill City Invitational, Boonsboro CC, Lynchburg, Va. -- Day 1
Tue. 10 Hill City Invitational, Boonsboro CC, Lynchburg, Va. -- Day 2
Sat. 14 at Max and Susan Stith Invitational, The Dominion Club, Richmond, Va. -- Day 1
Sun. 15 at Max and Susan Stith Invitational, The Dominion Club, Richmond, Va. -- Day 2
Sat. 28 at Eagle Invitational, Augustine GC, Stafford, Va. -- Day 1
Sun. 29 at Eagle Invitational, Augustine GC, Stafford, Va. -- Day 2
 
April
Fri. 10 at Sting in the Spring, Foxfire Resort, Jackson Springs, N.C. -- Day 1
Sat. 11 at Sting in the Spring, Foxfire Resort, Jackson Springs, N.C. -- Day 2
Sun. 19 at Old Dominion Athletic Conference Championship, Stoney Creek GC, Nellysford, Va. -- Day 1 %
Mon. 20 at Old Dominion Athletic Conference Championship, Stoney Creek GC, Nellysford, Va. -- Day 2 %
Tue. 21 at Old Dominion Athletic Conference Championship, Stoney Creek GC, Nellysford, Va. -- Day 3 %
% Postseason
Bold: Home event

--LYN--

Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Fri Dec 20
4:00 PM
Hood
vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Marymount (Va.)
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Wed Jan 01
2:00 PM
William Peace
vs. Lynchburg
Thu Jan 02
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 04
4:30 PM
Johns Hopkins
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Jan 07
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Jan 08
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Sat Jan 11
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Fri Nov 08
Final
87 Lynchburg
78 vs. Albertus Magnus
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 09
Final
62 Lynchburg
75 at Hood
MMI Tip-Off Championship
Wed Nov 13
Final
88 Lynchburg
68 at N.C. Wesleyan
Sat Nov 16
Final
69 Hampden-Sydney
74 vs. Methodist
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 1
Sat Nov 16
Final
80 Pfeiffer
91 vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
Final
99 Hampden-Sydney
108 vs. Pfeiffer
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 3
Sun Nov 17
Final
69 Methodist
93 vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Fri Nov 22
Final
84 Lynchburg
88 vs. Mary Washington
@ Newport News, Va. CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 1
Sat Nov 23
Final
77 Lynchburg
79 at No. 9 Chris. Newport
CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 4
Sun Dec 01
Final
81 Lynchburg
68 at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
Final
73 Lynchburg
78 at Ferrum
Sat Dec 07
Final
51 East. Mennonite
90 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Wed Jan 01
2:00 PM
William Peace
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Jan 08
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Wed Jan 15
7:30 PM
Hampden-Sydney
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 18
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Emory & Henry
Wed Jan 22
7:00 PM
Ferrum
vs. Lynchburg
Coaches vs. Cancer Week
Sat Jan 25
2:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Alumni Day | Coaches vs. Cancer Week
Wed Jan 29
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Roanoke
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sun Nov 10
Final
60 Meredith
81 vs. Lynchburg
Tue Nov 12
Final
39 Lynchburg
70 at Averett
Fri Nov 15
Final
39 Lynchburg
52 at Emory
Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic (Game Played at Agnes Scott)
Sat Nov 16
Final
64 Colorado Col.
76 vs. Lynchburg
@ Agnes Scott College, Decatur, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Wed Nov 20
Final
73 Lynchburg
60 at Hollins
Mon Nov 25
Final
61 East. Mennonite
82 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 04
Final
58 Lynchburg
49 at Randolph
Sat Dec 07
Final
67 Emory & Henry
56 vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Game
Fri Dec 20
4:00 PM
Hood
vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Marymount (Va.)
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Thu Jan 02
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sat Jan 04
4:30 PM
Johns Hopkins
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Jan 07
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 11
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Jan 15
5:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 18
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Wed Jan 22
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Sat Jan 25
4:30 PM
Bridgewater (Va.)
vs. Lynchburg
Alumnae Day
Wed Jan 29
7:00 PM
Hollins
vs. Lynchburg
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Wed Oct 23
Final
1 Shenandoah
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
Final
3 Lynchburg
1 at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
Final - OT
0 Guilford
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Sun Nov 03
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
2 vs. Lynchburg
Match 3 - ODAC Quarterfinal
Fri Nov 08
Final - PK Away
2 Lynchburg
2 at Hampden-Sydney
Match 6 - ODAC Semifinal
Sat Nov 09
Final
0 Lynchburg
1 vs. No. 11 Washington and Lee
@ Hampden-Sydney College, Hampden Sydney, Va. Match 8 - ODAC Championship
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Thu Oct 24
Final
3 Lynchburg
4 at No. 15 Randolph-Macon
Moved from Oct. 23
Sun Oct 27
Final
1 Lynchburg
2 at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
Final
2 Lynchburg
1 at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
Final - OT
2 Va. Wesleyan
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Mon Nov 04
Final
0 East. Mennonite
4 vs. Lynchburg
Match 1 - ODAC First Round
Wed Nov 06
Final
1 Lynchburg
4 at No. 14 Randolph-Macon
Match 2 - ODAC Quarterfinals
View Full Schedule