Women's soccer rebounds to beat Adrian

Hannah Olds dribbles the soccer ball. Graphic showing 3-1 final score as Lynchburg defeats Adrian.

Salem, Va. -- University of Lynchburg's women's soccer team used a late scoring barrage to end the Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase on a high note, a 3-1 victory over Adrian at Roanoke College's Kerr Stadium.

Senior forwards Kennedy Jakubek (Leesburg, Va.), Hannah Olds (Wilmington, N.C.), and Caitlin Mertens (Succasunna, N.J.) each scored goals for the 16th-ranked Hornets.

Lynchburg's offense unleashed 16 shots-on-goal in the match, but Bulldogs keeper Ayverie Giller made 13 saves to keep the match close.

 

THE RUNDOWN

Final: No. 16 Lynchburg 3, Adrian 1

Records: No. 16 Lynchburg 3-1, Adrian 1-3-1

Venue: Kerr Stadium, Roanoke College, Salem, Va.

 

HOW IT HAPPENED

  • Lynchburg drew blood early when Jakubek netted an unassisted goal in the second minute. The Hornets were unable to add to the lead before halftime despite out-shooting Adrian, 13-3, in the first half, and the Bulldogs' Sabrina Weir scored the equalizer as time expired in the half.

  • The Hornets continued the pressure after halftime and eventually broke through in the 78th minute, when freshman midfielder Taylor Smith (Chesapeake, Va.) found Olds, who finished to the right to give Lynchburg the lead.

  • Less than a minute later, Mertens connected to give the Hornets some cushion.

  • Senior goalkeeper Delia LoSapio (Raleigh, N.C.) stopped both Adrian's shots-on-goal to keep the Bulldogs off the board in the second.

 

LOOKING AHEAD

The Hornets will hit the road next weekend for yet another tournament, this time trekking to the Volunteer State for the Sewanee Invitational in Sewanee, Tenn. Lynchburg will take on Emory University Saturday, Sept. 15 at 3:30 p.m. and the host Tigers the following day at noon.

--LYN--

Women's soccer blanks Emory U.
September 15, 2018 Women's soccer blanks Emory U.
Fri Sep 20
at ITA Southeast Regional Championship, University of Mary Washington, Fredericksburg, Va. -- Day 1
Sat Sep 21
at ITA Southeast Regional Championship, University of Mary Washington, Fredericksburg, Va. -- Day 2
Sat Sep 21
Fresno State
vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Match
Sat Sep 21
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Catholic
Sat Sep 21
2:00 PM
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
Parents Weekend
Sat Sep 21
2:00 PM
Southern Virginia
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Sep 21
4:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
vs. Lynchburg
Sun Sep 22
at Bridgewater Invitational, Lakeview GC, Harrisonburg, Va. -- Day 1
Sun Sep 22
at ITA Southeast Regional Championship, University of Mary Washington, Fredericksburg, Va. -- Day 3
Mon Sep 23
at Bridgewater Invitational, Lakeview GC, Harrisonburg, Va. -- Day 2
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Fri Nov 08
TBA
Lynchburg
vs. TBA
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
Fri Aug 30
Final
4 Roanoke
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Non-conference match
Sat Sep 07
Final
0 Maryville (Tenn.)
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Regent
10 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Wed Sep 11
Final
2 No. 16 Mary Washington
0 vs. Lynchburg
Fri Sep 13
Final
1 No. 13 Oglethorpe
2 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Sep 18
Final - 2OT
0 Lynchburg
0 at Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 21
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Catholic
Wed Sep 25
7:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Non-conference match
Sat Sep 28
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Roanoke
Wed Oct 02
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 09
7:00 PM
Randolph-Macon
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hampden-Sydney
Wed Oct 16
3:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 19
7:30 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Shenandoah
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Fri Nov 01
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- First Round
Sun Nov 03
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
View Full Schedule
No Event
Sat Aug 31
Final
2 No. 10 Johns Hopkins
0 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sun Sep 01
Final
2 Mt. St. Mary (N.Y.)
7 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sat Sep 07
Final
1 Maryville (Tenn.)
2 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 1
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Kalamazoo
3 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 3
Sat Sep 14
Final - 2OT
2 No. 19 Lynchburg
3 at Emory
Sun Sep 15
Final
1 No. 19 Lynchburg
0 at Piedmont
Wed Sep 25
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 28
12:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 05
1:00 PM
Bridgewater (Va.)
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 09
4:00 PM
Randolph
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at East. Mennonite
Tue Oct 15
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Wed Oct 16
4:00 PM
Sweet Briar
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
5:00 PM
Roanoke
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sun Oct 27
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
1:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Wed Nov 06
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ High Seed ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
View Full Schedule