Women's soccer drubs Salem thanks to Olds' hat trick

Hannah Olds kicking a soccer ball. Graphic showing 6-1 final score.

Lynchburg, Va-- The University of Lynchburg women's soccer team defeated the Spirits of Salem, 6-1, Sunday afternoon in a non-conference matchup. It was the Lynchburg women's soccer program's 500th win, making the Hornets one of just a handful of programs to reach that milestone.

Senior forward Hannah Olds (Wilmington, N.C.) led the Hornets with three goals, her second-career hat trick.

Senior forward Caitlin Mertens (Succasunna, N.J.) also racked up two goals. Mertens leads the ODAC with 20 goals and 45 points; she became the sixth player in Lynchburg women's soccer history to score 20 goals in a season, and her 54 career goals put her in a tie for sixth in program lore.

 

THE RUNDOWN

Final: Lynchburg 6, Salem 1

Records: Lynchburg 12-2-1, Salem 6-10

Venue: Shellenberger Field, University of Lynchburg, Lynchburg, Va.

 

HOW IT HAPPENED

  • Mertens got Lynchburg on the board with an assist by senior midfielder Kennedy Jakubek (Leesburg, Va.) in the 13th minute.

  • Lynchburg scored again in the 20th minute when Hannah Olds capitalized on a nice pass from freshman midfielder Taylor Smith (Chesapeake, Va.). The Hornets would take that lead into halftime.

  • The Hornets moved to a 3-0 lead after Mertens took a feed from Smith and dribbled the ball past the keeper for her second goal in the 65th minute.

  • Salem's Alyssa Denkovich notched a shot right over the goalie in the net, but Lynchburg quickly responded with back-to-back goals by Olds in the 76th and 77th minutes. Junior forward Alyssa Rudy (Greencastle, Pa.) assisted the latter.

  • Junior midfielder Taylor Stevens (Clayton, N.C.) finished out the second half with an unassisted goal in the 84th minute and brought the Hornets to a final 6-1 victory.

 

LOOKING AHEAD

Lynchburg will get ready to face the Washington and Lee Generals on Shellenberger Field Wednesday, Oct. 17 at 5 p.m. to kick off Homecoming week. This will be a CODE RED match.

--LYN--

Women's soccer blanks Emory U.
September 15, 2018 Women's soccer blanks Emory U.
Fri Nov 22
5:30 PM
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
@ Newport News, Va. CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 1
Sat Nov 23
at NCAA Division III Championships
E.P. "Tom" Sawyer State Park, Louisville, Ky.
Sat Nov 23
Noon
at Yellow Jacket Invitational -- Day 1
@ Swim RVA, Richmond, Va.
Sat Nov 23
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at No. 9 Chris. Newport
CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 4
Sun Nov 24
10 a.m.
at Yellow Jacket Invitational -- Day 2
@ Swim RVA, Richmond, Va.
Mon Nov 25
7:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Sun Dec 01
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Sat Dec 07
at Roanoke Invitational
Roanoke College, Salem, Va.
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Fri Nov 08
Final
87 Lynchburg
78 vs. Albertus Magnus
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 09
Final
62 Lynchburg
75 at Hood
MMI Tip-Off Championship
Wed Nov 13
Final
88 Lynchburg
68 at N.C. Wesleyan
Sat Nov 16
Final
69 Hampden-Sydney
74 vs. Methodist
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 1
Sat Nov 16
Final
80 Pfeiffer
91 vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
Final
99 Hampden-Sydney
108 vs. Pfeiffer
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 3
Sun Nov 17
Final
69 Methodist
93 vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Fri Nov 22
5:30 PM
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
@ Newport News, Va. CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 1
Sat Nov 23
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at No. 9 Chris. Newport
CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 4
Sun Dec 01
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Sat Dec 07
2:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Wed Jan 01
2:00 PM
William Peace
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Jan 08
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
Sun Nov 10
Final
60 Meredith
81 vs. Lynchburg
Tue Nov 12
Final
39 Lynchburg
70 at Averett
Fri Nov 15
Final
39 Lynchburg
52 at Emory
Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic (Game Played at Agnes Scott)
Sat Nov 16
Final
64 Colorado Col.
76 vs. Lynchburg
@ Agnes Scott College, Decatur, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Wed Nov 20
Final
73 Lynchburg
60 at Hollins
Mon Nov 25
7:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Sat Dec 07
4:30 PM
Emory & Henry
vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Game
Fri Dec 20
4:00 PM
Hood
vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Marymount (Va.)
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Thu Jan 02
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sat Jan 04
4:30 PM
Johns Hopkins
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Jan 07
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Wed Oct 02
Final - 2OT
2 Lynchburg
2 at Bridgewater (Va.)
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 09
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final - 2OT
3 Lynchburg
3 at Hampden-Sydney
Wed Oct 16
Final
0 Lynchburg
4 at No. 6 Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 19
Final
1 East. Mennonite
3 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
Final
1 Shenandoah
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
Final
3 Lynchburg
1 at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
Final - OT
0 Guilford
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Sun Nov 03
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
2 vs. Lynchburg
Match 3 - ODAC Quarterfinal
Fri Nov 08
Final - PK Away
2 Lynchburg
2 at Hampden-Sydney
Match 6 - ODAC Semifinal
Sat Nov 09
Final
0 Lynchburg
1 vs. No. 11 Washington and Lee
@ Hampden-Sydney College, Hampden Sydney, Va. Match 8 - ODAC Championship
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Oct 05
Final
0 Bridgewater (Va.)
4 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 09
Final
1 Randolph
5 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final
5 Lynchburg
0 at East. Mennonite
Tue Oct 15
Final
3 Lynchburg
0 at Ferrum
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 16
Final
0 Sweet Briar
9 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
Final
2 Roanoke
1 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Thu Oct 24
Final
3 Lynchburg
4 at No. 15 Randolph-Macon
Moved from Oct. 23
Sun Oct 27
Final
1 Lynchburg
2 at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
Final
2 Lynchburg
1 at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
Final - OT
2 Va. Wesleyan
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Mon Nov 04
Final
0 East. Mennonite
4 vs. Lynchburg
Match 1 - ODAC First Round
Wed Nov 06
Final
1 Lynchburg
4 at No. 14 Randolph-Macon
Match 2 - ODAC Quarterfinals
View Full Schedule