Women's soccer blanked by Johns Hopkins

Caitlin Dorsch making a save in soccer warmups

Salem, Va. -- The University of Lynchburg women's soccer team was unable to overcome an early deficit, falling to No. 10 Johns Hopkins 2-0 to open up the 2019 season Saturday afternoon at Kerr Stadium.

No. 20 Lynchburg (0-1) fell behind in the fourth minute when Hopkins' Emily Maheras scored an unassisted goal to give the Blue Jays a 1-0 advantage they would not relinquish. 

The Blue Jays scored again at the beginning of the 84th minute with an unassisted goal by Rachel Jackson. 

The Hornets received a solid game from senior goalkeeper Caitlin Dorsch as she notched a new career-high in saves with 5. 

The Hornets will be back in action tomorrow, Sunday Sept. 1 as they take on Mt. St. Mary College at 3 p.m. at Kerr Stadium in Salem, Va.

--LYN--

Fri Sep 20
at ITA Southeast Regional Championship, University of Mary Washington, Fredericksburg, Va. -- Day 1
Sat Sep 21
at ITA Southeast Regional Championship, University of Mary Washington, Fredericksburg, Va. -- Day 2
Sat Sep 21
Fresno State
vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Match
Sat Sep 21
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Catholic
Sat Sep 21
2:00 PM
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
Parents Weekend
Sat Sep 21
2:00 PM
Southern Virginia
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Sep 21
4:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
vs. Lynchburg
Sun Sep 22
at Bridgewater Invitational, Lakeview GC, Harrisonburg, Va. -- Day 1
Sun Sep 22
at ITA Southeast Regional Championship, University of Mary Washington, Fredericksburg, Va. -- Day 3
Mon Sep 23
at Bridgewater Invitational, Lakeview GC, Harrisonburg, Va. -- Day 2
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Fri Nov 08
TBA
Lynchburg
vs. TBA
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
Fri Aug 30
Final
4 Roanoke
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Non-conference match
Sat Sep 07
Final
0 Maryville (Tenn.)
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Regent
10 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Wed Sep 11
Final
2 No. 16 Mary Washington
0 vs. Lynchburg
Fri Sep 13
Final
1 No. 13 Oglethorpe
2 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Sep 18
Final - 2OT
0 Lynchburg
0 at Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 21
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Catholic
Wed Sep 25
7:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Non-conference match
Sat Sep 28
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Roanoke
Wed Oct 02
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 09
7:00 PM
Randolph-Macon
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hampden-Sydney
Wed Oct 16
3:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 19
7:30 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Shenandoah
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Fri Nov 01
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- First Round
Sun Nov 03
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
View Full Schedule
No Event
Sat Aug 31
Final
2 No. 10 Johns Hopkins
0 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sun Sep 01
Final
2 Mt. St. Mary (N.Y.)
7 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sat Sep 07
Final
1 Maryville (Tenn.)
2 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 1
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Kalamazoo
3 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 3
Sat Sep 14
Final - 2OT
2 No. 19 Lynchburg
3 at Emory
Sun Sep 15
Final
1 No. 19 Lynchburg
0 at Piedmont
Wed Sep 25
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 28
12:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 05
1:00 PM
Bridgewater (Va.)
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 09
4:00 PM
Randolph
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at East. Mennonite
Tue Oct 15
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Wed Oct 16
4:00 PM
Sweet Briar
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
5:00 PM
Roanoke
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sun Oct 27
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
1:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Wed Nov 06
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ High Seed ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
View Full Schedule